Book Review of Death Under the Deodars by Ruskin Bond

Anjana A R
2 min readApr 12, 2020

In the first glance of the title and the shady cover page of the book, it’s evident that the plot of death under the deodars revolves around death. Set in Mussoorie, a place more beloved to the author in real life, and counting back to the 20th century, lived Miss Ripley Bean. She is an elderly woman, a spinster who resides in a hotel once owned by her father. You can spot characters like Nandu, pianist Lobo, and her dog Fluffy, acting as pillars of support to Miss Ripley Bean.
Death is what keeps the novel moving. Unfortunately, Miss Ripley Bean happens to be a witness of death right in front of her eyes, where Miss Basu, an attractive woman, gets murdered. But sadly, what made me disappointed is that the murderer is revealed in the first few chapters of the story itself, thus leaving for no scope for impression at first glance to any reader. I can say that you lost me at this point where the murderer is revealed.
In the next chapters, there is a reminiscence of many murders by Miss Ripley Bean, Nandu, and by Lobo. Expect Ruskin Bond in a guest role in some parts of the novel as well.
The next chapter was about a boy, who is a troublemaker to his parents, and I was shocked after the revelation of the boy’s identity.
What I like in this novel is the way of storytelling by Ruskin Bond-he keeps one interested till the end. And I liked a chapter where a black dog follows the author like a guard, maybe because of my fondness towards dogs.
The way she narrates is just like grandmother’s tales, which are more than just exciting, yet with a moral in it somewhere.
Seriously, this one isn’t an Arthur Conan Doyle type but written in a simple and not so heart-rending way.
Whether I liked the novel or not is a question that I would like to answer- Yes. I read it during Lockdown days, where I took reading as entertainment or, in other words, keep me engaged in something. To those who expect some serious plot, this novel won’t be an up-to-the-mark, I should say. And I give it a 3 out of 5.

--

--

Anjana A R

Anjana has more than 4 years of content writing experience. Her interests also lie in reading books, gardening, cooking and offering insights readers can trust